Skip to content

Boynton’s letter of resignation

June 19, 2014

With Michael Boynton’s 13-year tenure in Walpole coming to an end, read the October 25, 2001 Walpole Times article about Boynton’s hiring.

Below is the full text of Town Administrator Michael Boynton’s resignation letter to the Walpole Board of Selectmen, sent on June 17, 2014:

As you are aware, I have been offered and have accepted the position of Town Administrator for the Town of Medway. As such, please accept my formal resignation from my position as Town Administrator here in Walpole. Per the terms of my agreement with the Town, I will provide the Board with 30-days thereby ending my employment on July 17, 2014.

The decision to leave Walpole was not an easy one to make. I am very proud of the successes and accomplishments we as a Community have seen in the past twelve-plus years, and am privileged to have served with a tremendous group of department heads and staff. You can be assured that the team in place here is as good as there is and dedicated to the mission of preserving Walpole as an outstanding place to live and work. In a special way, I want to recognize and thank Jim Johnson and Cindy Berube for all of their amazing efforts and support day in and day out. Walpole is fortunate to have both of these professionals, and together they will help guide the organization during the search for my successor. I too want to thank you and all the Boards of Selectmen I have served since 2001. We have tackled many major issues and topics along the way, and collectively have worked in the best interest of the Town at all times with positive results. And, most importantly, I want to thank the residents of Walpole for the confidence placed in me as their Town Administrator. It has been an honor and a pleasure, and I will cherish the memories and friendships I have made along the way. I am indeed excited and encouraged about beginning in Medway, but I will always hold Walpole and her people in a special place in my heart.

I thank you again for all of your guidance, leadership and support, and I wish each of you the very best.

Thank you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

