Skip to content

Ending newspaper column

November 5, 2013

I have decided, after considerable thought, to take a hiatus from my Walpole Times column (“Obar on the Issues“) for the indefinite future and to instead focus on 180, and on other activities in my life.

I would like to thank Keith Ferguson, the editor at The Walpole Times, for giving me an incredible opportunity, for being a really tough editor, and for always demanding the highest standards. He has taught me many important journalism skills. He gave me an opportunity that I am not sure some other newspaper editors would have.

Perhaps most importantly, it is the readers that drive every newspaper column. Your readership, and your comments on each column, made it a lot of fun. I enjoyed reading and responding to your comments, even the negative ones. I hope that you enjoyed reading as much as I enjoyed writing. When I first started, I said that I hoped my columns would “help foster a more vigorous town-wide discussion of local issues.” I hope that I was successful in doing that.

I hope to continue to make meaningful contributions to the political scene here in Walpole, on this blog, as a Town Meeting Representative, and in letters to the editor. I also won’t rule out restarting the column at some point in the future.

This blog is important to me because it gave me my start in the local political scene. I am loyal to it, and I plan to keep this up. Also, it gives me much more control over content, and no space limitations as a newspaper does. Nothing will change on this blog.

I want to be clear that the decision to step away from my column was mine alone, and no one pressured me to do it. As most readers are probably well aware, I would have had it no other way. I am ending this column, for the time being, of my own volition, with no regrets.  I don’t want anyone to think that they have defeated me or forced me to retreat from my beliefs.

This winter, I plan to get a real estate salesperson license. I am excited about doing something new. I’m not sure if I would get a lot of money from real estate, but I’d like to see how I do. It will be a good break from politics, which has started to consume my life. I also have some other things that I would like to pursue.

As always, thank you for reading, and see you around town.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Robert Luce permalink
    November 11, 2013 1:29 PM

    Con grades on a job well done

Leave a Reply

