Skip to content

I will run for RTM as write-in

April 19, 2012

I had decided several months ago that I would not run for Town Meeting Representative. I did not feel ready to run and to serve at this point in my life.

However, only 13 people turned in papers to run for 19 seats for RTM in my home precinct 4.

It concerns me tremendously that my precinct may be underrepresented and that apathy seems to prevail.

I have strong opinions on the issues and I have always been willing to serve in elected office but I was afraid of the commitment, among other reasons. However in this unique situation, I will make an attempt at running write-in for one of the remaining six slots available for RTM. There are six slots open, so I may as well give it a shot.

I am asking anybody who lives in Precinct 4 to consider writing in my name on the ballot. If I don’t get enough votes to win, I don’t care since I didn’t want to run originally anyway. I am not going to devote any time to campaigning. I would appreciate your vote but I’m not going to push anybody.

Chances are I will be voting “No” quite often at Town Meeting. Hopefully my positions on the issues aren’t mysteries – if anyone has any questions they can email me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

