Skip to content

9/11 ceremony had too many politicians

September 16, 2011

Earlier this week, I wrote what was supposed to be a blog post about how I thought Walpole’s 9/11 remembrance ceremony last Sunday was dominated by too many politicians. Four politicians gave speeches at that event, one after another. It wasn’t until after they had finished their redundant speeches that the family of a local victim of the tragedy was finally recognized. The politicians also spent a lot of time thanking and congratulating each other.

Overall, I thought the ceremony put too much emphasis on the politicians, and not enough emphasis on the victims of the September 11 tragedy.

After writing a very long blog post about the ceremony and all of the problems that I had with it, I was going to post it on my blog. I decided at the last minute not to.

The reason I didn’t post it is because the 9/11 tragedy is a very sensitive issue for the victims’ families and I didn’t want to probe into the nitty-gritty details of the ceremony. And the whole point of my blog post was that Walpole’s ceremony had too many politicians with meaningless, redundant speeches, and too little mention of the victims and the tragedy itself. I wasn’t going to give those politicians any more attention and I didn’t want to press the issue.

“I have often regretted my speech, never my silence.”
~ Publilius Syrus

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

