Skip to content

Radio show will end in June

December 18, 2010

Next fall, when I go off to college, I will be starting a new period in my life that will bring me away from the Walpole area at least for a short time and will likely bring newer and better endeavors for me to take part in.

The last episode of The Sam Obar Show on WDIS AM 1170 will air on Saturday, June 18, 2011. The last few weeks of the show will include coverage of the June town election in Walpole, as well as a look back at some of the best moments of The Sam Obar Show’s three-year history.

The Sam Obar Show has been a very exciting experience for me, and I have enjoyed every single interview I have done on the show. Every guest I have had has been great, and I am grateful for the people I have met and the topics I have learned about through my work on that program.

Even while I will no longer air the Sam Obar Show, I will continue to run 180. I will continue to follow, to the best of my ability, local, state, and national politics and offer my commentary every now and then, even if it is not possible to publish a blog post as frequently as I do now.

Thank you especially to Dan Collier, Leonard Mintz, and Albert E. Grady at WDIS AM 1170 in Norfolk for giving me the opportunity to do this show and for helping it grow and develop into what it has become. Leonard, especially, has been a great mentor not only in the radio business but also in life, always willing to sit down and talk with me about my own goals and to tell fascinating stories about his own life. Dan has always been a fantastic producer for my show, always cooperative even when he and I disagreed both creatively and logistically. Mr. Grady continually supported my show.

Here is a list of all of the great people who have offered their time to be guests on my program during the time that The Sam Obar Show has been airing (listed in no particular order):

Michael Amaral, Walpole Historical Commission Member
Jon Rockwood, 2008 Candidate for State Senate and Walpole Town Moderator
David Tuercke, Economist at Beacon Hill Institute
Keith Ferguson, Walpole Times Reporter
Jim Lucas, Sports Commentator
Jane Swift, Former Governor of Massachusetts
James Roosevelt, Democratic National Committee Official
Paul Cellucci, Former Governor and Former Ambassador to Canada
Andrew J. Bacevich, Professor of International Relations at BU
Mike Berry, Walpole Selectman
Nancy Mackenzie, Walpole Selectman
Cliff Snuffer, Walpole Selectman
Michael Boynton, Walpole Town Administrator
Patrick Shield, Candidate for Selectman
Tim Cahill, 2010 Candidate for Governor and State Treasurer, 2003-2011
Barney Frank, Congressman from the 4th Congressional District
Scott Brown, Former Wrentham State Senator and Current US Senator
Stephen Lynch, US Congressman
Bill Bowles, State Representative from Attleboro, 2009-2011
Sean Bielat, candidate for Congress
Jack Coffey, candidate for District Attorney

I apologize if I have forgotten anyone.

Thank you for your listenership and support.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

