Skip to content

My Wishes for 2009

January 1, 2009

A new year is upon us, and I wanted to take this moment to discuss some basic things that I wish for this year:

1. I wish for justice for Danny Villa
First
and foremost, I would like to see a speedy but fair trial for Mr.
Villa.  Should he be found guilty, I would like to see him serve an
appropriate amount of time in prison, and I want him to apologize to
the community for his obvious betrayal of our trust.  If he is found
innocent of any of the charges against him, I would like to see the
community accept him again.  Either way, I want our town to be more
proactive to prevent future incidents like this from occurring with our
town’s teachers.

2. I wish for responsible political leadership
As
someone who was never a fan of either Barack Obama or George Bush, I
would like to see our new president, who promised change, truly deliver
change and wipe away the disastrous failures of the past eight years. 
I would like to see politicians on Beacon Hill and on Capitol Hill stop
the partisan bickering and work together to strengthen the economy and
restore America’s dignity. I would like to see Osama Bin Laden
captured, the War in Iraq ended, and our dependence on foreign oil
diminished.  I want the Democrats, who will enter the 111th Congress
this year with a majority in both the US Senate and US House of
Representatives in addition to a hold of the White House, to be
open-minded and cautious with American tax dollars.  I want ethics for
politicians to be restored, especially here in Massachusetts, and I
would like to see more investment in renewable energy.

3. I wish for a championship sports year like no other
I
would like to see the Red Sox go all the way to win the World Series
this year, and I want the Patriots to end their season as the victors
in the 2010 Superbowl – not in December, like they did this year.  I
want to see the Walpole Little League make it into, and win, the Little
League World Series again, and I want the New England Revolution to win
the Cup.  I want to see the Walpole Rebels become champions in every
sport this year.

4. I wish for peace and harmony for all
Finally,
I wish for world peace and for everybody to feel safe.  I want
violence, both on city streets and in conflicts in foreign countries,
to be drastically reduced, and I would like to see more cooperation
internationally among scientists to combat illnesses.  I want to see a
responsible well-thought-out plan for healthcare reform in America,
and I want the United Nations, and other world powers, to take an
active role in stopping needless wars and genocides in places like
Israel, Darfur, and the Middle East.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

